Subscribe by Email

Friday, December 7, 2012

What are Rational Unified Process building blocks?

Whenever we talk about iterative software development process frame works, the first name that comes to our minds is of the rational unified process. It is not just a single hard coded prescriptive process rather it is quite an adaptable and flexible process frame work. 

This frame work comes with several facilities, the best one being that your organization can tailor it according to their needs. 

What is Rational Unified Process?

- Unified process when specifically implemented is called as the rational unified process. 
- Rational unified process is counted among the best products of IBM and the credit for its development goes to the rational software division.
- The RUP comes with a hyper linked base consisting of the descriptions of several types of activities and a few sample artifacts. 
- A part of the IBM’s rational method composer (RMC) is occupied by the rational unified process.
- It allows the users to customize the process as per their needs. 

What are building blocks of Rational Unified Process?

In this article we are to talk about the building blocks of the rational unified process.
- These basic best practices of the rational unified process were developed as a result of the combination of the experience of many companies. 
- The building blocks are:
  1. Iterative development with risk as its primary iteration driver.
  2. Management of the requirements.
  3. Employment of an architecture based up on components.
  4. Visual modeling of the software.
  5. Continuous verification of the quality.
  6. Controlling the changes
- These best practices are used in the following two ways:
  1. For driving the development process of the rational’s products.
  2. To be used by the rational’s field teams so as to assist the customers in improving the predictability as well as the quality of the software development efforts.
- The task involves the assembling of the explicit process framework for the field of modern software engineering. 
- The delivery mechanism developed by the objector was based up on the HTML and employed in accomplishing this task.
- This task resulted in the creation of the rational unified process. 
- A set of content elements or the building blocks form the foundation for the rational unified process and give a description of the product that is to be produced and the required necessary skills. 
- They also give a detailed step by step explanation for achieving the specific development goals. 

Now we shall list all the building blocks of the rational unified process and discuss them in detail:
  1. Roles: This building block can be defined as set consisting of related skills, responsibilities as well as competencies.
  2. Work products: This building block gives the representation of thing that would result when a task would be completed inclusive of all the models and documentation produced during the course of the completion of that task.
  3. Tasks: This building block gives a description of the units of works that are assigned to an element from the role which will produce a result that would be meaningful.
There are 9 disciplines in to which the tasks are categorized within each iteration. There are 6 engineering disciplines and 3 supporting disciplines which together make up total 9 disciplines. The 6 engineering disciplines are:
  1. Business modeling
  2. Requirements
  3. Analysis and design
  4. Implementation
  5. Test and
  6. Deployment
The following are the three supporting disciplines:
  1. Configuration and change management
  2. Environment and
  3. Project management
The organization and the management of the above mentioned building blocks need to be solid and flexible in order to make the rational unified process a success which otherwise cannot be achieved. 

No comments:

Facebook activity