Subscribe by Email

Friday, December 14, 2012

Transition Phase - One of the phase of Rational Unified Process

There are 4 phases which together constitute the rational unified process namely:
  1. Inception phase
  2. Elaboration phase
  3. Construction phase
  4. Transition phase
The above mentioned phases are responsible for the representation of the rational unified process at the highest level in the way which is similar to waterfall model representation but the difference is that the key for the rational unified process lies in the development iterations which form an integral part of all the phases of the rational unified process. 

Also, each of the four phases of the rational unified process are characterized by two things namely the objective and the milestone. The objective drives the whole phase from the beginning to the end and the milestone concludes the end of it. 

The phase is said to be complete with successful result if and only if it passes the milestone since this only marks the conclusion of the phase. All of the phases of the rational unified process are visualized in the form of a chart called the RUP hump chart which is drawn over the course of the whole process. 

In this article we shall discuss exclusively about the fourth phase of the rational unified process i.e., the transition phase. 

Objective of Transition Phase

- The primary objective with which the transition phase is driven is “to transit the software system or application” from the phase of development in to the actual phase of production. 
- This also extends the availability of the software system or application to the end user in such a form that it is understandable by the end user. 
- This phase involves the below mentioned activities:
  1. Training the end users
  2. Training the maintainers as well.
  3. Carrying out beta testing on the software system or application for validating it against the expectations of the end users.
  4. Checking the software product against the quality level that was set in the inception phase.
- When all the objectives are said to be accomplished, the software system or application is said to reach the ‘product release milestone’ and the development cycle is said to be concluded.
- This fourth phase of the rational unified process does the fine tuning of the software product.
- It is based on the feedback from the user and the software product is made ready for the release. 
- The transition phase is basically focused on the availability of the software system or application to the end users.
- The transition phase often involves the spanning of the several iterations. 
The software product is tested in order to prepare it for the release and also minor adjustments are made as per the feedback provided by the end users. 
When this point in the software development life cycle is reached, it is required that the feedback from the end user should be majorly focused up on the following issues:
  1. Fine tuning of the software system or the application.
  2. Configuration of the product
  3. Installation issues
  4. Usability issues
- By this time, almost all the major issues of the product structure should have been worked out in the earlier phases of the software development life cycle. 
The product release milestone can be defined as a point where it is decided that all the objectives of the project have been met and whether or not another development cycle is required. 
- The basic and majority of the evaluation as well as the refinement of the software system or application is done based up on the feedback from the user.
- This can be considered to be a kind of fine tuning exercise for the software system since the system has already met the requirements of the users as it is driven by the use cases. 
- At the end, a final evaluation is done and accordingly the project is released to the public or is considered for another development cycle. 

No comments:

Facebook activity