Subscribe by Email

Saturday, December 4, 2010

What comprises Test Ware Development : Test Plan - Unit Test Plan

The test strategy identifies multiple test levels, which are going to be performed for the project. Activities at each level must be planned well in advance and it has to be formally documented. Based on the individual plans only, the individual test levels are carried out.
The plans are to be prepared by experienced people only. In all test plans, the (ETVX) Entry-Task-Validation-Exit criteria are to be mentioned. Entry means the entry point to that phase. Task is the activity that is performed. Validation is the way in which the progress and correctness and compliance are verified for that phase. Exit tells the completion criteria of that phase, after the validation is done.

ETVX is a modeling technique for developing worldly and atomic level models. It is a task based model where the details of each task are explicitly defined in a specification table against each phase i.e. Entry, Exit, Task, Feedback In, Feedback Out, and measures.
There are two type of cells, unit cells and implementation cells. The implementation cells are basically unit cells containing the further tasks. A purpose is also stated and the viewer of the model may also be defined e.g. to management or customer.

Types of Test Plan

Unit Test Plan (UTP)
The unit test plan is the overall plan to carry out the unit test activities. The lead tester prepares it and it will be distributed to the individual tester, which contains the following sections:

- What is to be tested?
The unit test plan must clearly specify the scope of unit testing. In this, normally the basic input/output of the units along with their basic functionality will be tested. In this case, mostly the input units will be tested for the format, alignment, accuracy and the totals.

- Sequence of testing
The sequence of test activities that are to be carried out in this phase are to be listed in this section. This includes, whether to execute positive test cases first or negative test cases first, to execute test cases based on the priority, to execute test cases based on test groups etc.

- Basic functionality of units
The independent functionalities of the units are tested which excludes any communication between the unit and other units. The interface part is out of scope of this test level.

Apart from these, the following sections are also addressed:
- Unit testing tools
- Priority of program units
- Naming convention for test cases
- Status reporting mechanism
- Regression test approach
- ETVX criteria

No comments:

Facebook activity